Back in Abu Dhabi – Golfing in the Desert

After a wonderful trip back to the good ‘ol USA, it was quite tough to get back on the plane to return to Abu Dhabi, despite the promise of warm weather. I had spent three weeks gorging myself with all the comforts of home, from pizza (which I’m convinced made me sick), to an awesome Christmas Eve dinner at the Ippolito’s, to The Tree in Rockefeller Center, partying in New York, Boston, Tucson, and Killington, my family, friends, Andrea, American Football, and last, but certainly far from least, Bud light and other cheap American beer.  Ahh, the things I now appreciate.

Well, classes start up again tomorrow, so this the last post from freedom for quite some time.

When I returned to the Dhabs, as it has come to be named, I got a call from a friend of mine who works at Masdar City that she had some two for one golf coupons, so I was of course happy to accept the invitation.  Remember, I was fresh off my trip to Tucson, AZ, where I played some lights out golf with my parents (and by lights out I mean the people living on the golf course whose windows I destroyed and now have access to enhanced natural light). Upon some further investigation, however, it turns out that the so-called desert courses of Tucson are nothing compared to the desert courses here.

We arrived at Al Ghazal Golf Club (http://www.alghazalgolf.ae/) to find that when they say desert, they mean desert. The fairway is merely smooth sand marked by stakes where you can hit off of an astroturf mat that you carry with you,

the rough is one giant bunker, the bunkers are still bunkers, and the greens are actually called browns and are just paved and packed sand.

Either way, it was a fun time for sure, and certainly provided many excuses for my terrible golf game (and probably improved my ability to get out of the sand).

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Nute on January 27, 2010 at 2:42 pm

    At least you don’t have to replace divots.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Linda Trummer on February 16, 2010 at 10:21 pm

    Wow I will never complain about the Westchester County courses again!!
    I will be golfing at the Pamilla in 6 weeks -what excuse will I have for my golf score?
    Cheers Linda

    Reply

Leave a Reply

